loving the little years. {interview with Rachel Jankovic part one}

Loving the Little Years

To the point, brilliant, grace-filled, and hilarious.  Rachel Jankovic’s Loving the Little Years: Motherhood in the Trenches has been such a blessing to me, that I chose to include it in our family favorites, because of the very real application it has had in my life as a mother.  Rachel has ministered to my heart, through her faithfulness to train her children in godliness, and by thoughtfully encouraging other mothers to persevere in, and enjoy the calling of motherhood.

I was excited to have an opportunity to interview Rachel with some questions I was curious about.  I completely enjoyed her answers and look forward to sharing them in this three-part interview.   There’s more available from part two and part three.


{Part one of three.}

ME: I love how short (sometimes just two pages) and thought-provoking each chapter is. It’s about the amount of time I have to read at any given time. Does it reflect the realities of long you had to write them?   
RACHEL: Yes, totally! I write while at home with little people. I don’t sit down to write until I know what I am going to say. So most of my time is spent thinking, and then a few short minutes actually writing. The short and to the point style is definitely reflective of the style of my life. I really don’t have the time to write longer things, and I also don’t have the mental space to carry one long and sustained train of thought. But I’m guessing you know how that feels!
ME: Your writing of gospel truths have ministered to me in Mothering the Little Years, as well as your articles on Desiring God and posts on your family’s Femina blog. What are some writings from others that have most ministered you?
RACHEL: Well, it has been a while since I read any of them – but I have to go with the books from my parents (Doug and Nancy Wilson) on family. The best part of these is that knowing them so well, I can really endorse that they are the people they seem like they are, that they did what they talk about, and that we all have a really sweet relationship. My parents are hands down the most sacrificial, loving, faithful, kind people that I know. Growing up to be like them would be pretty great!

Family Favorites Loving the Little Years

{This book is part is one of our family’s favorite biblical resources.}

Leave a Reply

