every. single. day. {part 2}

marriage.

I have been overwhelmingly hit with the truth that God created marriage to bring him glory.  not to bring me glory.  I knew this, but didn’t really accept it.
Thanks to my truly incredible husband who has loved me through so much selfishness, I was reminded that God absolutely wants us to experience joy in our marriage, but that if we only seek happiness from the other person meeting our expectations, that is coming up way short of what God intends for us.  
“Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”
(Ephesians 5:1-2 ESV)  It dawned on me that in practice, I was expecting Jack to give his life up for me, and not loving him sacrificially and without expectation.  God blessed me with my marriage to my husband, to address my heart and make me more like Him.  Crazy, but very true.
{Some of my very favorite resources to turn to for encouragement and teaching about marriage are from Mars Hill Church in Seattle, WA.  Pastor Mark Driscoll is an incredible, passionate, and truthful preacher and teacher who has made a huge impact on our lives.}
Leave a Reply

