Revised Laundry Detergent Recipe

{There have been so many people who still ask me about my laundry detergent.  So for you, I’ve revised my recipe and added my tips!}

I love using the Duggar Family’s laundry detergent recipe.  It’s simple to make and saves a lot of money.  I make a double batch and usually ask Jack to grate the soap for me.  (I have a separate grater I use for this specific purpose.)  Cub Foods always seems to carry the ingredients, if you don’t find them elsewhere.
Homemade Liquid Laundry Detergent (adapted from the Duggar Family’s Recipe)
4  Cups – hot tap water
1  Fels-Naptha soap bar
1 Cup – Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda (Neither Baking soda or Arm & Hammer Detergent should be substituted – it needs to be sodium carbonate.)
½ Cup Borax
5 gallon bucket with lid 
-Grate the bar of soap (using the small holes of a grater…it will melt much faster) and add to a saucepan with water. Stir continually over medium-low heat until soap dissolves and is melted.
-Fill a 5 gallon bucket half full of hot tap water. Add melted soap, washing soda and Borax. Stir well until all powder is dissolved. Fill bucket to top with more hot water. Stir, cover, and let sit overnight to thicken.  (I use a long-handled sturdy grilling spatula to stir).
-Stir and fill a clean, laundry soap dispenser 3/4 full soap and then fill rest of way with water. Shake before each use (will gel).  Pour a capful into the machine.  (Your cap may be a different size, so give it a try and adjust how much you pour in if necessary.)  I add extra for really soiled loads.


2 thoughts on “Revised Laundry Detergent Recipe

  1. I wash all of my laundry in pure baking soda and LOVE it. I had done a homemade mix like this, but absolutely love pure baking soda. I buy it in bulk at Costco. It’s super easy – I just use an old Oxyclean scoop – 2 scoops in a normal load, and 3 in a dirty (or diaper) load. Let it soak for stinky or soiled loads, and it’s amazing. My husband will vouch for it as well – and he’s a tough sell on ‘unconventional’ products!

  2. Pingback: A Recent Afternoon «

Leave a Reply

