{My Mom’s} Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

DSC_0785

I would give anything to have a loaf of my mom’s banana chocolate chip bread to pull from the freezer right now.  She makes them with mini chocolate cops, but because I keep regular semi-sweet chocolate chips on hand, I use those in mine.  It is delicious!  My favorite way to eat it is toasting and buttering a thick slice.  
This bread freezes well (I usually wrap a cooled loaf in plastic wrap, wrap tinfoil around that, and then put it in a labeled Ziplock bag).  It’s on hand for morning guests to to deliver to friends.
Banana Chocolate Chip Bread (makes two loaves)
2/3 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
5 bananas, mashed (I always use a potato masher)
4 cups all-purpose flour
5 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup buttermilk
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream butter and sugar.  Mix in eggs and bananas.  In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips.  Add to the creamed mixture, alternately with the buttermilk.  Stir until just blended.  Pour batter in two 9x5x3 greased and floured loaf pans.  Bake for 60 minutes until golden brown.
2 thoughts on “{My Mom’s} Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Yummy Goodness «

Leave a Reply

